Moments of Melancholy Madness in Melbourne Pt 1

Zach Galifianakis, Butterbean and me

I awoke abruptly as the ground beneath shook me violently out of my slumber. What kind of waking hell was this? The clouded sense of disorientation swarmed around me like bees to honey. As my vision restored back to normality, I was confronted by the notion that I was airborne. What’s more I was sandwiched between a guy who looked remarkably like Zach Galafinikis and another bloke who had all the hallmarks of ex-boxer, Butterbean, who actually kept himself to himself and perhaps only uttered a few words throughout the entire flight. I wish that more could be said of Zach, who noticing my transformation back to the land of the living, had sprung an attempt at conversation upon me. I wasn’t in the mood for polite talk and tried to bury myself into the news that was being displayed on the in-flight entertainment. There was some news about an American McDonalds worker, who claimed she owned a winning lottery ticket.  The attempt would be in vain however, as I lacked the necessary ear phones to block Zach out of my inner sphere. He sensed my new found interest in the news bulletin and seized his chance to enter by remarking on the cartoon graphics that accompanied said news piece. “How much money do they spend on these ridiculous cartoons?” You could see that he was keen for me to accompany him on his tirade. “Waste of money, if you ask me”. I forced a polite chuckle and then feigned sleep once more…. Melbourne couldn’t come soon enough.

People had told me that I would love Melbourne. I’m not sure what that meant or why they felt that I in particular would feel affiliated to the city, but my expectations should have been high. However, I felt that it was important to remain neutral and not judge immediately. Once we had checked into the apartment, my wife and I decided to float our way through the city and settle wherever the wind may take us. Evidently, this turned out to be along the Southbank. A parade of cars were being showcased along the walkway. The sun was shining and we found ourselves nestled on the grass and soaking everything in. Breathing in the city that encompassed us. My initial thoughts of the place hadn’t truly sunk in yet. I could feel something that I couldn’t quite tap into. Something that hung on the precipice, waiting on the sidelines to enter into our world. Right now, I felt lethargic. Sleep was once more taking a hold of me. Randomly, I saw a Roman soldier cross my field of vision and make his way towards the Docklands. Strange, I thought, but my mind had become clouded again. Melbourne’s effects were sending me into a dreamlike state. It was taking hold of me and forcing me into a sense of safety and security and I for one was willing to allow it. My inhibitions were removed and I would succumb underneath the shade of the strange shaped trees, that bent over to protect my wife and I.

About thegonzotrap

Like an illicit drug injected straight into a vein, drama and the creative arts grabbed hold of me from an early age. Whatever form it took on, I was hooked. This intoxication went straight to my brain, infusing every impulse with creative energy and injecting it with so much passion and vitality that it could lift me higher than anything that I could imagine. There are many forms that have inspired me over the years, leaving me hungry for more. Always something to whet my appetite. I have tried to harness this yearning. Always aspiring to seek out what truly invigorates my soul and for a while, this drive has laid dormant, but now, it has begun to resurrect itself. The only way to let any form of creativity to flourish is to observe it: Its' traits, its' habits, it's ebbs and flows. I have decided to create this blog in order to record and collate anything that may ignite the senses. Currently, I am training as a multiplatform producer. I aim to bring together the skills from the scholarship I have undertaken at Metro Screen with other qualities that I have attained over the years. Whether this is through acting, editing or production management, merging this with things that have inspired me thus far and hopefully beyond. My target is to bill myself as a Gonzo Multiplatform Producer. This blog will be my journey.
This entry was posted in Moments of Melancholy Madness in Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

